In the Berry Patch

Raspberry Fool

              

On Ravelry last month, the Malabrigo Junkies group had a Holiday Stockpile One-skein Design contest, so I looked in my stash to see what inspired me.

The clear, bright pink of this lovely Malabrigo colorway, Geranio, took me back to a day in the summer of 1969, when my college friends and I picked buckets full of fresh raspberries on a farm in Pennsylvania. That evening, I found a recipe for “Raspberry Fool,” a deep-dish cobbler, and we all devoured it while watching the men walk on the moon and marveling at how far our country had come.

Consulted Donna Kooler‘s indispensible Encyclopedia of Crochet for some sort of berry stitch, and the result is my first crocheted dog sweater pattern, Raspberry Fool, modeled here by the always-willing, always-chilly Willie.

  My boy does love to be in pictures, and he loves his new Mmmmmm sweater.  Try it ~ the pattern’s on my Free Patterns page (my gift to you dog-loving crocheters or crochet-loving dog parents), and it’s quick and easy, a great place to start if you’re ready to attempt your first crochet project.  And you could do a lot worse than Donna Kooler’s great book for instructions on how to wield the addictive little hook.

I have another puppy pattern, this one knit, that I will try to get up this week.  I say try because I am having a total knee replacement on Thursday, and there are way too many things to do between now and then. 

I hope to keep you updated throughout my recuperation.  This is my second knee, and I’m not looking forward to spending the holidays limping and learning to walk again.  My last surgery was on almost the exact same date two years ago, so I’ve done it all before.  This time I’ll be getting a custom knee joint created from a special MRI of my knee.  This is new technology, using the OtisKnee (TM), and it will be interesting to see how it compares with my other, one-size-fits-all knee.

If I don’t get that pattern posted before Thursday, see you on the other side …

6 Responses to “In the Berry Patch”


  1. 1 Karen January 29, 2010 at 3:48 pm

    It would be very kind and helpful if you would describe the berry stitch you used for those of us who do not have access to the Encyclopeida of Crochet. I worked for hours and hours on this pattern only to realize I did not have the instructions for the special stitch used. So frustrating!!

    • 2 mysavannahcottage January 29, 2010 at 4:35 pm

      The “Back” section of the pattern starts:

      Ch 25 (33 ~ 37) and begin berry pattern as
      follows:
      Row 1: Turn. Ch 2. DC across.
      Row 2: Turn. Ch 1. 2 scs, *dc5tog in next dc, 3
      scs*; repeat from * to * across, ending with 2 scs,
      sk tch.
      Row 3: Turn. Ch 2. DC across, sk tch.
      Row 4: Turn. Ch 1. 4scs, *dc5tog in next dc, 3
      scs*; repeat from * to * across, ending with 4 scs,
      sk tch.
      Row 5: Turn. Ch 2. DC across, sk tch.
      Repeat rows 2-5 3 (4 ~ 5) more times, for a total
      of 8 (10 ~ 12) rows of berries (or more,
      depending on the length of your dog).

      This is the berry pattern. The attribution at the end of the pattern for the “Encyclopedia of Crochet” was just a notation of where the stitch came from. It is all there!

      • 3 Karen January 30, 2010 at 9:16 pm

        Are these stitches also referred to by others as “bobbles” or “popcorns” or “puffs” or “clusters”??
        Because it isn’t always clear to a beginning crochet person what the difference is. I initially read this pattern as having 5 dc in the same stitch,like one might use on a shell stitch, so when I got to the next row I had exponentially increased the number of stitches from 33 (for the middle size) to 65 stitches because I worked each of those five double crochets on the next row, and on the next time I worked those double crochets I was up to 125 stitches, at which time I realized something was wrong -that you must mean that the group of five dc somehow had to be closed.
        I knew from another pattern what a “bobble” was so I used that stitch. Sorry, maybe I am dense, and new to crochet from being a previous knitter, but it really helps to spell it out for the neophytes just how that group of 5 dc has to be closed together, since there are different ways, I think I now understand–or at least I’m pleased with my results. Thank you so much for your kind reply.I thought you might appreciate insight into a beginner’s thought process as they attempt a new pattern, and try to increase their skills beyond a single or double crochet stitch.

      • 4 mysavannahcottage February 8, 2010 at 8:35 pm

        Dc5tog could be called either a bobble or puff. This stitch actually involves creating 5 dc’s, leaving them all on the hook as you make each new one, then doing a yarn-over and taking them all off the hook at one time, thereby creating the “berry” used in this pattern. I am not a shill for Donna Kooler, but as a new crocheter, you can’t do better for a simple, easy-to-follow reference book. Good luck with the pattern!

  2. 5 chesed14 January 22, 2013 at 1:55 pm

    so frustrating for me to follow. I have tried to work this back several times and have had to rip it down and start over and over. So frustrated that I had to search the internet to see if anyone else was having problems. I am a newer crocheter as well and also kept running into the same problem as Karen above. Also, I was confused after doing several of rows 2-5, that the first time a (WS) direction was given. When do I start the (WS)? I tried it after row one which did not work as the beginning of row one is the (WS) as it turns out. Feel like quitting. I have an auto-immune disease and and exhausted from the 6-7 re-starts I have had. I kept thinking, just keep going and trust the pattern, it’ll like right sooner or later. But it didn’t. I’m thankful to learn that it is not 5DC together in one stitch as I thought also.Will research how to do a bobble. I’m concerned though that after these struggles, maybe something else will not be right either and more exhaustion is anticipated. I wish there are experience crocheters near me to help answer questions but there isn’t. I have bought a few books but, I suppose it’s in times like this that we learn. The pattern itself is beautiful and I wish the blue jean jacket had a conversion from knit to crochet. You do such lovely work. :-)

    • 6 mysavannahcottage January 22, 2013 at 6:52 pm

      I am so sorry you are having this issue with the pattern. I have worked it myself three times and have never had a problem. Are you on Ravelry? If not, you should join! There is a forum on there, and more-experienced crocheters might be able to help you with the pattern. I wish I could walk you through it, but honestly, I am having trouble understanding what the problem is from your post. Row 1 is RS, Row 2 is WS, Row 3 is RS, Row 4 is WS, Row 5 is RS; the next row is WS and so on. I just put WS on that row to clarify since it is not numbered. Good luck!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 79 other followers

